Accountancy Department

A brief history of the Department

Teaching in Commerce was introduced in this heritage institute Hooghly Mohsin College on August 1, 1974, as a department for general degree course. It was inaugurated by the then Education Minister Prof. Mritunjoy Bandyopadhyay. Within a short period of time honours course was introduced in the department. In 2001 a feather was added in the department’s crown in the form of introduction of PG course (M.Com.) in the department. The department officially belongs to Evening Section, but to accommodate PG teaching simultaneously with its UG teaching we hold our classes during Day Section too. At present, we have one PG section, one Honours section, and one General section. The department can boast of its students. They have glorified the department having been University Toppers for different years both at UG and PG levels. We have also a matter to be proud for its publication which is a peer-reviewed one. The department has been publishing its own publication by the name and style “Suprayaga” since 2013 with ISBN. “Suprayaga” has three sections: i) Part – 1(General Section) contains research based publications of members of faculty of the department and other institutes; ii) Part – 2 (Emerging Issue) contains research based publication of contemporary issues/ new areas of study; Part – 3 (Thought Provoking) contains students’ publications. “Suprayaga” also provides a list of recent publications in different renowned journals. We have already published four issues of “Suprayaga”. The department organizes national, state-level, departmental, and students’ seminar on regular basis. We have already organized UGC sponsored national seminar in 2012 on ‘Inclusive Growth’. In 2013 UGC sponsored state-level seminar on ‘e-filing’ was also organized by the department. In 2015 another national-level seminar (UGC sponsored) on ‘Second Generation Reforms’ of the department attracted a large number of participants from different colleges and institutions. These apart, departmental seminars and students’ seminars are frequently held in the department as teaching-learning process. Eminent persons like – Prof. B Bhattacharya (Former Vice Chancellor, JNU), Prof. Soumyen Sikdar (IIM, Calcutta), Prof. Ajitava Raychoudhuri (Professor, Dept of Economics, JU), Prof. Biswajit Chatterjee (Former Dean, JU), Prof. Sudipti Banerjea (Professor, Dept of Commerce, CU), Prof. Achin Chakraborti (Director, Institute of Development Studies, Kolkata), Prof. Dhruba Ranjan Dandapat (Dean, Faculty of Commerce & Management, CU), Prof. Arup Chatterjee (Former Dean, BU), Prof. Chittaranjan Sarkar (BU), Prof. Debashis Sur (BU), Prof. Debdas Rakshit (BU), Prof. Anjan Chakraborti (CU), Prof. A K Swain (BU, Odisha) and other renowned persons from different universities, colleges, Income Tax Dept etc were kind enough to come to our dept to deliver their lectures to enrich our students and faculty. Department also organizes career counseling programmes on regular basis. Persons of repute from different fields came to our dept to guide the students to mould for the best possible suitable career. Department organizes educational and industrial tour every year. Teachers, students, ex-students, and non-teaching staff of the department participate in this programme. Students of the department celebrate “Teacher’s Day” every year with gorgeousness; dance, music, recital of self-written poems and instruments by students adorn the programme; of course happy ending with sweetmeat. Our students have also a good track record of placement including ‘Navaratna’ companies, State Audit & Accounts service, Banks, and private sector. Despite dearth of teachers, non-teaching staff, classrooms, and other infrastructural facilities,the department boasts of the ambience of teacher-student relationship and teaching-learning process. We believe that our department is a Model not only for other departments of the college, but for different colleges too.

Sl. Programme Level of study
2 B.COM (GEN) U.G.(GEN.)
3 M.COM P.G.


Sl. No. Name of the Teachers Designation Qualification Specialization
1 Dr. Sajal Kumar Maiti Professor M.Com., Ph.D B.O. & Management
Debrabrata Lahiri
Associate Professor M.Sc. Economics
Kartick Biswas
Assistant Professor M.Com., B.Ed., Ph.D (Pursuing) Accounting & Control
Dr. Jyotirmoy Koley
Assistant Professor M.Com, M.Phil, Ph.D, C.A.(Inter) Accounting & Finance
Dr. Sankar Paul
Assistant Professor M.Com, M.Phil, Ph.D Accounting & Finance
Sunil Tudu
Assistant Professor M.Com, B.Ed, Ph.D (Pursuing) Accounting & Control
Tanay Naskar
Assistant Professor M.Com. Accounting & Finance
Ajoy Ghosh
Guest Faculty M.Com. Accounting & Control
Subrata Nath
SACT-I M.Com, DSA Accounting & Finance
Amitava Bose
SACT-I MCA Computer Application



Year Program Code Program Name Number of students appeared in the final year examination Number of students passed in final year examination Pass Percentage
2020-21 B.Com. (H) B.Com. (Honours) 36 97.22%


Year Program Code Program Name Number of students appeared in the final year examination Number of students passed in final year examination Pass Percentage
2020-21 M.Com. M.Com. 4 100


Sl. No. Name of the Student Awards/recognitions


Session Date Speaker Seminar Type Topic
2019-20 29.06.2020 Dr. Amit Majumder Students Webinar e-filing and Tax Related Issues
2020-21 22.06.2021 & 23.06.2021 Students Student led seminar Various topics selected by students